Continuation of our series on industrial ecosystems in metropolitan environment.  The previous note showed that the "white collar" jobs in the industrial sector are also Metropolitan, as opposed to production jobs. Here we discuss the factors of localization of industrial investments.

For startups, Paul Graham indicated three localization factors: youth, academia and investors.

For the localization of industrial activities, it is much more difficult in particular because the activities of industrial companies are specialized in large sites. There are a number of different types of factors that can be observed.

In an open world market, the industry spreads geographically at various scales and the reference market of each of the industries considered must be taken into account.

Aeronautics is directly global, at least on the largest aircraft segment, other industries are more local. Some require low-transportable localized production, others facilitate the concentration of global production on a few sites.

In the factors of implantation of industrial activities it is necessary to consider several levels that become entangled.

At the international level, we can cite taxation, the level of salaries, the overall quality of infrastructure and training.

For finer location choices, we will find very contingent elements, such as the presence of a railway spur, a motorway junction, port access, the price of m², the ability to recruit in the chosen specialization, with probably more need to be close to training venues for non-executives. It is easier to move a few high-level executives, on an industrial site, than to remotely recruit all the workers.

Among the various factors, some are specific to each industry: transfer price, for pharmaceuticals, transportability of products, level of range (Devialet produced in France, a "CD player" at €1700; same remark for Thermomix: a German company produces domestic robots in France, but they are sold more than €1000 piece).

Environmental regulations are also an important factor, and the Trump Government's actions focus on making them responsible for American deindustrialisation.

A graph completed at the end of 2015 also showed that the different French industrial sectors are in extremely different dynamics in terms of jobs.

On an abscissa, on a logarithmic scale, the ratio between jobs created and eliminated by industrial sector, from 2009 to 2015. In ordinate, the number of jobs created by the sector from 2009 to 2015, without the jobs suppressed – indicator of the size of the sector. The printing company sees 10 jobs recreated for 100 jobs, and a total of about 1,000 jobs created since 2009. The same graph made with 206-2017 data would show that sectors such as the automobile are reversed in the Green, with a number of jobs created greater than the number of jobs suppressed. Data Trendeo Observatory on employment and investment.

One could also specify ecosystems specific to each industry.

For the installation of a data center for example, we must first consider the seismicity of the terrain, the price of energy, the presence of multi-operator broadband... The cost of the work is on the other hand almost indifferent, it is a very capitalistic industry.

For a robotic ecosystem, an important factor is the presence of installers.

There are therefore a large number of parameters to be taken into account for the localization of industrial activities.

The very evolution of the industry can, however, make localization in countries with a high standard of living more interesting. In this sense, the industry of the future could make the localization of industrial activities in developed countries more attractive.

Next ticket: The industry of the future ...

Suite de notre série sur les écosystèmes industriels en milieu métropolitain.  Le billet précédent montrait que les emplois “en col blanc” du secteur industriel sont également métropolitains, par opposition aux emplois de production. Ici nous discutons des facteurs de localisation des investissements industriels.

Pour les startups, Paul Graham indiquait trois facteurs de localisation : des jeunes, des universités et des investisseurs.

Pour la localisation des activités industrielles, c’est beaucoup plus difficile notamment parce que les activités des entreprises industrielles sont spécialisées par grands sites. On peut tout de même relever plusieurs types de facteurs.

Dans un marché mondial ouvert, l’industrie se déploie géographiquement à des échelles diverses et il faut prendre en compte le marché de référence de chacune des industries considérées.

L’aéronautique est directement mondiale, au moins sur le segment des plus grands avions, d’autres industries sont plus locales. Certaines exigent une production localisée peu transportable, d’autres facilitent la concentration de la production mondiale sur quelques sites.

Dans les facteurs d’implantation des activités industrielles il faut donc considérer plusieurs niveaux qui s’enchevêtrent.

Au niveau international, on peut citer la fiscalité, le niveau des salaires, la qualité générale des infrastructures et de la formation.

Pour des choix de localisation plus fins, on va trouver des éléments très contingents, comme la présence d’un embranchement ferroviaire, d’embranchement autoroutier, d’accès portuaire, le prix du m², la capacité à recruter dans la spécialisation choisie, avec probablement plus de nécessité d’être à proximité de lieux de formation pour les non cadres. Il est plus facile de déplacer quelques cadres de haut niveau, sur un site industriel, que de recruter à distance l’ensemble des ouvriers.

Parmi les différents facteurs, certains sont spécifiques à chaque industrie : prix de transfert, pour les produits pharmaceutiques, transportabilité des produits, niveau de gamme (Devialet produit en France, un “lecteur de CD” à 1700 € ; même remarque pour Thermomix : une société allemande produit ainsi des robots ménagers en France, mais ils sont vendus plus de 1000 € pièce).

Les réglementations sur l’environnement sont aussi un facteur important, et les mesures du gouvernement Trump s’attachent à les rendre responsables de la désindustrialisation américaine.

Un graphique réalisé fin 2015 montrait également que les différents secteurs industriels français sont dans des dynamiques extrêmement différentes en termes d’emplois.

En abscisse, sur une échelle logarithmique, le ratio entre emplois créés et supprimés par secteur industriel, de 2009 à 2015. En ordonnée, le nombre d’emplois créés par le secteur de 2009 à 2015, sans les emplois supprimés – indicateur de la taille du secteur. L’imprimerie voit donc 10 emplois recrées pour 100 emplois supprimés, et un total d’environ un millier d’emplois créés depuis 2009. Le même graphique réalisé avec des données 206-2017 montrerait que des secteurs comme l’automobile sont repassés dans le vert, avec un nombre d’emplois créés supérieur au nombre d’emplois supprimés. Données observatoire Trendeo de l’emploi et de l’investissement.

On pourrait également spécifier des écosystèmes propres à chaque industrie.

Pour l’installation d’un data center par exemple, il faudra prendre en compte d’abord la sismicité du terrain, le prix de l’énergie, la présence de haut débit multi-opérateurs… Le coût du travail est en revanche à peu près indifférent, c’est une industrie très capitalistique.

Pour un écosystème robotique, un facteur important est la présence d’installateurs.

Il y a donc un grand nombre de paramètres à prendre en compte pour la localisation des activités industrielles.

L’évolution même de l’industrie peut cependant rendre la localisation dans des pays à fort niveau de vie plus intéressante. En ce sens, l’industrie du Futur pourrait rendre la localisation d’activités industrielles dans les pays développés plus attractive.

Billet suivant : L’industrie du futur